Ok they've called me back and cleared things up with me.
Apparently it IS indeed their policy to upgrade Yr 3 students who
have cleared a certain number of credits to Yr 4. It just so
happens that they didn't inform me about this, I was totally in the
dark, and there is no clear ruling telling all students about
this.
None of my peers seem to have heard of this ruling, and indeed, it
needed lots of checks and clarifications on the part of the admin
staff to certify that this was the policy.
I guess I might have overreacted somewhat, but then again, they
didn't make this ruling clear to us in the first place. And
besides, a few people who overloaded as much as I did are still
considered to be Yr 3 students.
And on their part, they have decided to manually add me to the TIP
module which I was shooting for.
Oh well.